starsbg

2/9/2015 – Yelp

Lights out! I have attended parties here as well as dined and the experience is always a great one. Even if you do not want or like steak, you can be plenty satisfied just eating a round of apps. Superb establishment. Outstanding food.

starsbg

Great Service!

February 13, 2015

Had a wonderful experence at Desi Vega’s last evening! It was so busy with all the parades and people, but service was still impeccable. Thank you to Kevin and Thomas for making our evening great. Food was superb. The filet was tender and flavorful, the Peanutbutter Pie was out of this world.

starsbg

Grabbed dinner here on our 1st monthly steak night and I was all around impressed. One of the better meals I’ve had in a bit. The long and short of it:

1. Meat. Everyone said their steak was juicy, tender and cooked to perfection. I got the NY strip medium rare and my friend got the Cowboy Steak medium rare. Both came out actually medium rare (I hate when some places consider slightly pink in the center medium rare). It’s definitely the best cut of meat I’d had in awhile.

2. Apps and Sides. The seafood bisque that was a special for the night was amazing. The oysters Rockefeller were decent, but could have used a bit more flavor. They don’t have a huge selection of sides, but are willing to accommodate. I like my steak with some sautéed onions or mushrooms which wasn’t on the menu, but they whipped some up for me anyway. Bonus points to the chef.

3. Atmosphere. Calm, relaxed and classy. It was upscale enough that I wouldn’t go in on jeans, but not so classy that I felt like I couldn’t unwind with a few drinks and joke around with the staff.

4. Bar. The bartender was very knowledgeable and they had a decent liquor stock. Their wine list wasn’t very extensive but what was on there was tasty.

5. Price. It’s expensive, but what nice steakhouse isn’t? Be prepared to drop $45 on a steak, $50 on a bottle of wine and realize at the meals end that it was totally worth it.

I’ll be coming back to Desi Vega again when my wallet can handle it. Glad to have a great steakhouse close to me when I get tired of the NOLA Cajun affair!

Overall Grade: A-

READ IT ON YELP>>

starsbg

Go; you’ll thank yourself later!

OpenTable Diner Since 2015Dined 3 days ago
My husband and I dined here for our wedding anniversary. The atmosphere was romantic; not too loud with subdued lighting. Every course of the meal met our expectations. The Who Dat Shrimp appetizer is particularly notable. On this particular evening there was a crawfish bisque which was the best I’d ever tasted. The steaks were done to perfection as ordered. The wait staff was extremely attentive, yet not overbearing. This was an extremely enjoyable dining experience. Stop thinking about it; make your reservation!

starsbg

FOOD 5
AMBIENCE 5
SERVICE 5
Dinner at Desi’s

DrBainesDined on January 21, 2015
I should preface by saying this was our entire parties first Desi visit. I had a friend & his GF in town for a birthday dinner. We were on the early side (5:30p) as we were on our way to catch an NBA game. Everything about the meal was fantastic – The room, the food, the service a first class operation. Desi’s is a great option for special occasions, pre game meal or just an excellent meal anytime. We will return & can’t wait to turn friends onto Desi’s.

starsbg

Bopper
Dined on 10/22/2013

Food
starssm

Ambience
starssm
Service
starssm
Noise Level – Energetic

We dined here before the Buble concert. The atmosphere was great and the food was really good. It was a perfect prelude to a birthday celebration with an unbelievable entertainer. We will definitely return.

starsbg

Sizzling Steaks & Delectable Wine

Stardust
Dined on 10/12/2013

Food 
starssm

Ambience 
starssm

Service 
starssm

Noise Level – Energetic

Unlike the other NOLA chain steakhouses, Desi’s puts the quality and attention to detail in every sizzling bite. Filet was tender and cooked to perfection, the wine menu is selective put right on point. The Golden Eye duckhorn Pinot is a well-priced treat that easily competes with over priced vintages. Atmosphere is lively and sits along the street car line for a view of old New Orleans nostalgia combined with modern hipness that is hard to beat.

Special features: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, hot spot

starsbg

Sizzling!

EJGies
Dined on 10/24/2013

Food
starssm
Ambience
starssm
Service
starssm
Noise Level – Moderate

Great place just far enough from the chaos of Canal and Bourbon St to relax and enjoy a good meal.
Steaks come out sizzling. Great service. Quiet enough to hold conversation but not too quiet that you don’t want to talk.
Overall, great food, terrific service and fair prices.

Special features: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion

starsbg

Love Desi’s place on the Avenue!

OpenTable Diner Since 2012
Dined on 9/07/2013

Food
starssm
Ambience
starssm
Service
starssm
Noise Level – Energetic

I’ve been knowing Desi from his early days at Emeril’s on Tchoup. He continues to exude vitality and warmth and readily shares it with his guests. The staff combine old school charm, knowledge, and care with a modern atmosphere. The food is outstanding, the bone-in filet is a rare find in New Orleans, and Desi’s grandma’s mini meatballs, served as an amuse bouche, joyfully make me recall my childhood days of growing up in a Sicilian family. Love, love, love! ~Sammye Morvay Pisani

Special features: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion

starsbg

Amazing restaurant

Chahua
Dined on 8/03/2013

Food
starssm
Ambience
starssm
Service
starssm
Noise Level – Moderate

The food was amazing. The steaks were perfectly cooked… One of the best steaks I have ever had. The shrimp and the crab cakes were delicious as well. Best steakhouse in Nola.

Special features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot

I would recommend this to a friend

starsbg

excellent steaks and seafood

nickname

  • Top 500 contributor

Dined on 8/03/2013

Food
starssm
Ambience
starssm
Service
starssm
Noise Level – Moderate

we have been several times now, and each visit has been great. excellent service, great steaks and seafood. salads excellent as well, and reasonable valet parking.

Special features: neighborhood gem, special occasion